top of page

Lutherie Gervais

Updated: Apr 4, 2018


IJ- Emile, let’s start from the very beginning. We know that you started your activity in 2013 , after having completed your study. Can you tell us a little bit about this passion? Do you remember your first approach to the music? When did you decided to become a guitar maker?


Hi, thank you for this opportunity. The whole passion for music started when I was little. A member of my family used to play an old Norman twelve string guitar. I always kept an interest of that particular sound. Later on in high school, we had to choose between art or music classes, the answer is obvious. Every student had to use the classical guitars, but I had the Aria of my uncle. I was walking to go to school morning and night, carrying the brown guitar case that was almost twice bigger than me. Immediately loved the steel strings. The teacher was a big influence in my music taste, I remember listening to «How the west was won» of Led Zeppelin and some Steve Vai with him after classes. Ever since, I have always been into rock n’ roll. Later in my life, I found myself listening to some heavy metal and going to live shows. Already into playing electric guitar in my room, I loved to see on what gear, amplifier and guitar my favourite bands played with. One time, the band I was going to see later that night was playing on a handmade guitar. I could see the steps of the building of that particular guitar and found that woodworking was not just about cabinet and chairs (and lots more). I developed a passion for live shows and not being a very good guitarist, I recycled myself as a sound engineer. After few years in that career, I felt I could do something else in my free time. Being freelance at first is challenging. To get enough gigs you need to work a lot an make yourself a name in that industry. I had no trouble working, in fact I worked way too much and at nineteen my body was already telling me to stop over working that much. I was young and it was the perfect time to go back in school. With that will to create, I kept the idea of making hand made guitars. The Guitar option in the Metier d’Art program was in his early years. I was fortunate to be into the twenty’s out of the eighties applications to get accepted.


IJ-During your studies you met Mario Beauregard. Can you explain to our reader who is Mario? Do you consider him as your mentor?


The school program is a three years study, covering mostly classical guitar. Some teacher were giving multiples classes. Some changes needed to happen inside the school to accommodate the growing number of students. The direction of the school wanted to bring a dedicated steel string master luthier to give the modern guitar classes. I did not know the work of Mario at first. Mario Beauregard is a master luthier whom his achievements are more than spectacular. He was the apprentice of Ervin Somogyi and had made himself a world wide reputation with his work. Some classes mate knew Antoine Dufour music and he is playing on Beauregard guitars. I got immediately amaze of that new-to-me style of finger playing and the powerful instrument Mario was creating. We were maybe sixteen students during that classes, Mario was bringing a whole new method of teaching. Gathering in circle, having demos on how to do every steps, a very hands-on approach. I always been a fast worker and Mario felt it and knew with my knowledge in live sound that I was ready for more theory than most students. For voicing per example. The Mario’s approach did not fit too well with the school vision and so the collaboration of those two only lasted for a year. The year I was in. I will always be grateful for the time Mario took for teaching us. In 2013, the school organized a trip to Santa Rosa to participate to the last edition of the Healdsburg Guitar Festival. From June to August, I have managed to set up my shop in my parents basement, made every jig I needed at each steps and made a whole new guitar. For the process of spraying the lacquer, I have asked Mario his help and he agreed. The guitar I brought to Healdsburg was not the one made in school, but my new one. I was very proud of that accomplishment. So I do consider Mario as a mentor even tough he was only a teacher for one year out of the three years spent at Bruand school.


IJ-Among the guitar that you manufactured so far, which is your favourite ?


I always love the beginning of a new build. Choosing the material and visualizing the final product. I get excited at every completed guitar. To choose one of the nineteen made so far, I would have to choose my Small Jumbo, featuring Multi-scaled and Arm-Rest. This is a guitar I have completed in ten days, returning from two weeks travel in France and Italy for guitars exhibitions, I had to build a new guitar for the upcoming Woodstock Invitational Guitar Show. It is my first multi-scaled guitar and I had no idea how it would turn out. I tend to say every guitar is for sale, even the very first one I have made, but this one, I think this one will stay with me for a long time.


IJ -We met the past year in Cremona Fiere: what’s your opinion about the trade shows? Do you find substantial difference between US shows and the European ones?


Cremona Fiere and the Acoustic Guitar Village was a great experience. The event was well organized, lots of guitar demos and masterclass. A big event for the whole music industries, loads of violin, guitars, musical gear etc. Out of the ten trade show I participated four of them was in European country. Cremona was slightly different but only for his substantial seize. Other shows are more concentrated for guitars only and this bring a stronger mutual passion for guitars and finger style music. EU and US guitar market is different too, but very inspiring on my side.


IJ-The 2018 is your 5th year in the business , are you able to do a "preliminary report"? Are you satisfied? What are your ambitions for the next 5 years?


Already five year in the business !!! I have a pretty positive opinion of the business I have made so far. I attended many guitar showcases and made my company visible on the international market. But the most important of all is how I feel about my products. I have made lots of research and development to be where I am. This helps a lot for the future. Having the design rock solid is important on the artisan point of view of the business. For the next years, I will continue attending to showcases, build on a regular basis and be available for my customers when they need repairs and adjustments.


J -Thank you for your time , Emile. Just one last personal request: tell us something about your personal playlist


You are welcome.

My musical playlist is pretty varied, especially during building process.

I can listen to some heavy metal in the rough stages of creation like I can be turning records on my turning table and listen to Santana's




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page